Spring Reflections

May 6, 2011 at 3:45 PM Leave a comment

As I reach the end of another semester, I want to take a moment to reflect on all I have learned about merging effective teaching strategies with new technologies through the MAET program at Michigan State University. I am especially excited and impressed by the topics in the areas of instructional design, the Scholarship of Learning, Universal Design for Learners, and assistive technologies. As a student and professional, I have learned firsthand the importance of goal-directed instructional design in the creation of technology-rich curricula.

This semester I have also had the opportunity to create and evaluate lesson plans that use technology in innovative ways to enhance student learning. Through MERLOT, I was able to publish a lesson plan, as well as a Stand-alone Instructional Resource (StAIR), and then receive feedback from other instructors and professionals. Giving feedback on MERLOT was also helpful in training myself to identify and assess compliance with UDL guidelines, ID principles, integrated technology, and alignment with content with curriculum standards.

MY GOALS

My own goals include integrating technology into instructional design in an innovative and interesting way and this program has helped me understand how to do that. Using the Universal Design for Learning checklist and the principles of instructional design covered in the first few weeks, I have learned how to design intentionally using technology to facilitate the best possible learning for the most diverse group of students.

My new goals consist of continuing work towards the MA in Educational Technology offered at Michigan State University, and more specifically to continue to design innovative and creative curricula in higher education spectrum. I understand that in order to maintain expertise in any field one has to stay informed and maintain a lifelong learning approach. I fully expect to be back in school and yet to find alternate sources of education through professional organizations and mentors in the field of educational technology.

Entry filed under: CEP 811, MAET.

Wikis

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories