Wikis

April 16, 2011 at 10:52 PM Leave a comment

This week in I explored wikis. As part of my exploration of this technological tool, I edited the Wikipedia entry for Lansing Community College and added a section on the University Center (UC) that opened in 2007. I wrote a brief history of the center and listed the six universities that partner with LCC through the UC. I cited and saved my work, and you can now view the University Center listing at the following address: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lansing_Community_College 

In addition to the Wikipedia entry, I also worked with some of my peers (nicknamed the DAASH) to create a wiki that contains an annotated list of key online resources in the development of information literacy and technology skills in students. Since my area of specialty is higher education, I assembled the Adult Learner resources.

This also provided a good opportunity for me to review the Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education as published by the ACRL to make sure the resources I chose support these standards.

 

Entry filed under: CEP 811, MAET.

UDL Framework Applied to ID Lesson Plan Spring Reflections

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories