Wicked Problem Project: Part D – Findings and Implications

February 27, 2011 at 3:05 PM 2 comments

In Part C of my Wicked Problem Project, I showed the ways I was implementing my solution to the educational need I identified in Part A, which involved the pedagogy of new technological literacies. This entry will discuss the findings and implications after implementing my solution.

Formative: Did the project get implemented as planned?
My Wicked Problem Project is in the process of being implemented as planned. The Angel course I designed to help facilitate the learning of AdvisorTrac is currently available to members of the AdvisorTrac committee and the divisional dean for review. In another week, final revisions will be made and the course will be made available to LCC employees needing training. From there, we will use the course assessments and evaluations, as well as the observable literacy levels of those having gone through the course to determine how the training should be revised. The committee chair did inform me that the college will continue to use this course as an ongoing tool post-implementation to provide AdvisorTrac training for new hires. In addition to the media tools I planned to use in the course, I also explored new tools like Wimba and Prezi and was able to use these in the course to enhance the learning space. This was especially important as the scope of the class really did grow while I was designing it–the potential enrollment jumped from twenty users to over eighty. In addition, I was asked to expand the audience to also include another type of user, which was the consultant. The new media tools I added will help make the content more accessible to such a diverse audience, and the different options (video, printable handouts, audio discussion forums, live chat, etc.) should cater to many different learning styles.

Summative: Evidence of success in addressing the problem of practice
When I first set out to create a solution to fill this need for training on a new technological literacy, I determined that the solution would need to be timely, effective, and cost-efficient. This course has not only met this criteria, but surpassed it. In the matter of a few weeks, I have explored, identified, and utilized tools that were already made available by the college to create a multi-faceted course that will work in just about any course management system. Moreover, the components of this course have been carefully thought out so as to most effectively educate LCC employees on a new technological literacy. By creating this solution, I have hopefully made a tool that can be used to help solve this problem of practice, if only on a relatively small scale.

Approach
When a similar problem of practice faces me, I will approach it similarly to how I’ve approached this problem with a few exceptions. First, I will have the conversation to determine the scope of the tool that is the solution, as well as the potential uses for the tool. This will help me make sure that the solution meets not only all of the needs of the user group, but that I address the needs of potential user groups as well.

Lessons Learned
While working on this project, I learned how to utilize the knowledge base around me to make my work more effective—this is a lesson I will definitely take with me into future projects. I was fortunate to be able to work alongside people in LCC’s E-Learning Department who were patient and interested in helping me create the best possible tool for my user group. They showed me how to incorporate external tools into my Angel course, and how to create content that will be compatible with other course management systems.

In what ways will you endeavor to do the same project again, and what will you change or not do?
I will continue to identify needs and educational opportunities, specifically in this area of new technological literacies in the education industry. While my current position at Lansing Community College does not allow me to spend a large portion of my time on committee projects the scope of this AdvisorTrac course, I will continue to identify educational needs in my respective department and create innovative solutions using the tools and technology available to me. In future projects, I will also more clearly identify the long-term support needs of my solution, so that the tool will continue to be supported by as long as it is being utilized.  In addition, I will look for new tools and technologies to suggest to my colleagues in E-Learning and the Center for Teaching Excellence in the hopes of being an innovative collaborator that endeavors to create meaningful and technologically advanced learning tools in the field of education.

Entry filed under: CEP 812.

On Mobile Learning Group Leadership Project

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alison Watt  |  February 28, 2011 at 4:07 PM

    Andrea it sounds as though everything is going well. This is a great undertaking and hopefully you’ll get a raise out of this.

    Reply
  • 2. Dionna Harvell  |  March 2, 2011 at 10:13 PM

    Andrea, I have never used Wimba, but I will definitely have to try it. You have a great start, I look forward to seeing your final project.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories